Michael Woodhead


Daemonia Nymphe

Very ecclectic and creative, this is an intriguing album.

Daemonia Nymphe is a group exploring the roots of ancient Greek classical music, and they have produced a dramatic musical representation of the famed dance to the god, Bacchus, by his ecstatic followers, the naiads.

Fascinating in its presentation, The Bacchic Dance of the Nymphs is a marvellous recreation of ancient instrumental sounds and music, combined with narrative (albeit not in English) and dramatic oratory. But the emphasis is on the music, sparse and strange though it may sound to Western ears. Nonetheless, it is a delightful piece of work to which interested listeners of neoclassical works would be directed.

From Prikosnovenie, the Fairy World label - "This is our black and white period. It is our first attempt to use Orphic Hymns in our music firstly using acoustic instruments in a way that could possibly remind of the ancient sound at least what we believed it sounded like. .. Of course we are inspired by the atmosphere of the ancient temples and statues but our main goal is to compose new music that can possibly have elements of our past (memory) and our present (action) and the hope to be heard also in the future. In general this music refers to the Nymphs Satyrs, Pan and Dionysus, Divinities of the woods, lakes and mountains which are so much connected with this sacred land 'Hellas'."

1. The Calling of the Naiads
2. The Bells of Acheron
3. The Bacchic Dance of the Nymphs
4. Calling the Twelve Gods
5. Summoning Pan
6. Divined by Trophonios
7. Tyrvasia